Burning Sky by Lori Benton

Burning Sky is the Mohawk name given to Willa Obenchain after she was abducted and adopted into their tribe at age 14.  She assimilated into the tribe and lived with them for twelve years, eventually marrying and having two children.  After circumstances force her to part from her tribe, she returns to her father’s land in New York only to find it seemingly abandoned, except by an injured Scotsman lying unconscious at the perimeter.  This sets the stage for numerous questions and challenges Willa must face as she tries to make a way for herself on her own.

I was intrigued by the description of the book and couldn’t wait to read it.  It has been a long time since I read a historical fiction book about Native Americans, but it is a genre I enjoy.  This is a lengthy book of 416 pages, and is the first novel by Benton.  I thought is was an excellent book.  Benton does a marvelous job of crafting the characters, building them slowly and with integrity.  The pacing of the plot was also just right.  Willa feels torn between two worlds, her Mohawk world and the white world, and the question of which one she will choose is put forth early in the book.  Normally when there is a question such as that in a book, I can’t wait to know the answer and I read as fast as I can to know what will happen.  However, I found myself enjoying so many other aspects of this book, the descriptions, the plot, the characters, that I was content to read leisurely, trusting that Benton would reveal all.

I really just loved this book!  It was one of those books that captures everything perfectly, the emotions of the characters, their choices, a little bit of history, and people coping with life that isn’t always easy.  It was a great reading experience.  The only thing that disappointed me was at the end of the book; I was hoping to see a page for Benton’s next book with a release date, but there was none.  I can only hope to read another book soon from Lori Benton – perhaps even following up with Willa (dare I hope?).

I really can’t recommend this book enough.  If you enjoy Native American historical fiction, then you will probably enjoy this book.  I really liked it.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Book for this review.

For more information about this book, please check out the links below:

http://www.loribenton.blogspot.com/

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=222106

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/blog/2013/04/13/sneak-peek-burning-sky-by-lori-benton/

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=163736

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

