The Beauty of Broken by Elisa Morgan

Elisa Morgan, former CEO of MOPS International, shares her story of brokenness, the brokenness of her first family and in her second as well.  Her first family was plagued by divorce and alcoholism and she was determined that she could mother so well that her second family would not be broken.  She failed to realize that children need to experience brokenness so that they can experience God’s grace and mercy, just as adults do.  She came to realize is that we are all broken and in the brokenness, there is beauty.  We all have to live our own story.

At first I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book.  It sounded interesting, but I wasn’t sure how much of it would apply to me or what I could learn from it.  I don’t think there is a perfect family anywhere, but I wouldn’t say my first family was broken (maybe just cracked).  However, it sounded like an interesting book, so I decided to check it out.

I think this book was so inspiring in so many ways.  Morgan shares the heartaches of her life in an honest way, not asking for pity, just reporting the events she experienced.  So many families experience the same struggles the Morgan family has, addictions, unexpected pregnancy, miscarriages, adoption, and divorce.  Sometimes, it is hard to continue to hold on to hope.  Morgan talks about the times she has cried out to God, questioning why the trials were happening to her children and he revealed to her they are writing their own stories.  It’s not easy for mothers to let go and watch their children make mistakes.

The only criticism I have for this book is that it seemed to jump around and didn’t seem to be organized in any specific way.  I think I would have enjoyed it more if it were organized chronologically.  At times I wondered if it was a book that had been assembled from a series of blog posts, as it had that kind of reflectiveness to it.  Morgan discussed her daughter’s experience with giving up her child for adoption, and then went to a different subject and then returned to her daughter’s experience.  It wasn’t confusing, it just didn’t make a lot of sense to me.

Overall, this was a great book that I enjoyed very much.  I would recommend it to anyone who is struggling to find hope in a seemingly hopeless situation.  However, I think this book also is a great reminder that brokenness is beautiful and that God loves us in our imperfection, that our brokenness and messiness serve as a backdrop for His mercy and love.

I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

