A Perfect Pet for Peyton by Rick Osbourne & Gary Chapman

Twins Penny and Peyton are celebrating their birthday at a very special place, Mr. Chapman’s Pet Pal Emporium, where each guest is matched with their perfect pet pal.  There are all sorts of fun activities for the twins and their guests to experience at the Pet Pal Emporium, all under the supervision of Mr. Chapman.  All the children are excited to see the animals, but Peyton wonders if he will receive a perfect pet pal.  Will he or won’t he?

When I first received this book, the first thing I noticed was the sturdiness of it.  It seems like an odd thing to take note of in a book, but it really impressed me that it was so sturdily bound that it would last for a long time, so I wanted to make sure to share that with readers.

Next, I noticed that beautiful illustrations on the pages, along with the extra challenges for readers to find an assortment of hidden details on the pages.  Very helpful when simultaneously reading with children of different ages!  The little ones can look at the pictures and find the hidden animals, while older ones can really focus on the story!

Finally, when reading the story, I enjoyed the storyline.  The alliteration was fun to read and I really liked the way the authors included just enough characters to demonstrate the five love languages in action, without making it too confusing for younger readers to keep track of all the people.  I had already read The 5 Love Languages of Children and The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, so I was familiar with them, but it helped me to assess my children’s love languages.  I think the questions at the end were also very helpful in discussing the different love languages with my children.

I would highly recommend this book for anyone with small children.  It is a beautiful book, with a lovely story.  I read it out loud to my multi-age children and they all said they would recommend it, too!

I received this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Boys Under 12, Girls Under 12, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Perfect Pet for Peyton by Rick Osbourne & Gary Chapman

  1. Pingback: Extraordinary Grace by Gary Chapman & Chris Fabry | A Book A Day

Leave a Reply

