Inescapable by Nancy Mehl

Lizzie is a young woman who left her Mennonite community and overbearing father after becoming a single mother.  When she is falsely accused of a crime and begins to receive threatening letters, she returns home hoping to prevent her daughter being removed from her or harmed.  Lizzie’s return home is met with many surprises…

I wanted to like this book.  I usually enjoy Amish/Mennonite fiction, and was very interested in this one after reading the description.  However, I just couldn’t get into it.  The characters were likeable, the plot was interesting with a couple surprises, and the message was a good one.

I was interested in the mystery part of the book and kept reading so that I could find out who the guilty party was.  Mehl set up the plot so that the guilty person was one of two people, so it was a 50/50 toss up.  I think that might have been what I didn’t like about this book, for a mystery, there wasn’t a lot of suspense.  I knew the culprit was one of two people, and it was just a matter of finding out which one.

If you are looking for a non-typical Mennonite fiction, you might enjoy this one, but it wasn’t great for me.  However, a lot of other reviewers loved it, so give it a try!

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inescapable by Nancy Mehl

  1. Reblogged this on BooksbyBrian and commented:
    Interesting read on very conservative Mennonite community. Good read/good story. I picked it up because of the Mennonite heritage. I decided to reblog this because of my Mennonite blog. I think the author’s research story background was accurate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

