101 Conversation Starters for Couples by Gary Chapman & Ramon Presson

Marriage experts Gary Chapman and Ramon Presson developed 101 questions that couples can use on a date night, at dinner, or whenever they have a quiet moment together.  These questions can trigger thoughts, feelings, or memories to help couples draw closer together.

When I first saw this book, I thought it was a cute little book.  It is not very large at all, which makes it easy to carry around – on shopping trips, in the car on road trips, or in your purse on a night out to dinner.  As I thumbed through the pages, I noticed the way it was organized with one question per page, with a green colored background and vague images of beautiful scenes behind the questions.  The appearance is very peaceful.

As I read through the questions, I thought how I would answer them and wondered how my spouse would answer them.  Some I already knew the answer to, but some I did not, which made me excited to ask him.  So I started asking him some of the questions and it lead to a nice conversation.  I carried the book with us as we did some shopping and it made the time in the car fly by quickly.

I think this is a good book to help couples get out the the grind of daily communication.  Sometimes we fall into daily conversations of, “What did you do today?” or “What do we have to do tomorrow?” or “Are we working in the yard this weekend?”  It can get boring when verbal interactions follow the same pattern.

I also think this book is helpful in exploring new or revisiting old territory.  When dating or newly married, we talk for hours to our partner, even staying up all night sometimes.  Then it is easy to get into a routine and before you know it, interactions are predictable.  This book could break up the routine.

Overall, I think this is a good book.  I have seen other books in the past that are similar, but this one is quite nice and very affordable.  It would make a nice gift for a newly married couple, a couple that is struggling to connect, a couple who are empty-nesters, or a newly retired couple spending more time together after years of working.  If you are a part of a couple that needs to improve communication, buy it as a gift to yourself.

I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishing House in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

