Heaven Hears by Lindy Boone Michaelis

I thought this story was interesting and inspiring.  I found the backstory of the Boone family interesting, but unexpected.  I thought after sharing the details of the accident, Michaelis would have traveled through his recuperation and recovery, without going into the past of the Boone family.  I found that there was a little unnecessary repetition.  However, the inspirational aspect of Ryan’s story made up for that.

It was a sad story to read about a young man in the prime of his life that suffered a devastating accident that changed his life forever.  It was amazing to read the story of his survival and recovery, but at times I was not clear about the pace of his improvement.  For example, is seemed like he went from comatose with no facial movement to trips to McDonald’s and talking.  I would have enjoyed more medical information about his condition.

I do wish there would have been some pictures included in the book, to see Ryan before and after to have a face to put with the name.  I also wish there would have been more information about his current level of functioning and day to day life.

With all of that being said, while that would have made the book more interesting for me, I realize the message of the book was to share God’s healing grace in the miraculous survival of Ryan and the fact that God holds everyone’s life in his hands.

Overall, I think this was an interesting book.  If you are a fan of the Boone family, you would probably enjoy this book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heaven Hears by Lindy Boone Michaelis

  1. Pingback: Still Lolo by Lauren Scruggs | A Book A Day

Leave a Reply

