Wrestling With the Devil by Lex Luger

Lex Luger shares his story of athletic success, drug abuse, infidelity, belief in Christ, and medical crisis.

I am not a wrestling fan and had never heard of Lex Luger before reading this book.  Even after reading the book, I am not a fan of Lex Luger.  For the first two-thirds of the book, I kept thinking, how is this a Tyndale book?  The most entertaining part of the book for me was when he shared his name was the Narcissist for a time because the whole time I was reading I kept thinking how narcissistic this guy was.  Suspecting that at some point he would repent and turn from his past ways (because it is a Tyndale book), I kept reading and waiting for a conversion or a change of heart.  It was a little disturbing the way his past life was seemingly glorified, with little discernible remorse.

I was happy to read that he was introduced to Jesus and turned from drug abuse, but I would have enjoyed reading more about his life now, instead of it being almost an afterthought.  It seems that Luger still stuggles with narcissistic tendencies and it would have been interesting to read about how he might be making amends to the people he hurt in his past – especially his wife and children.

Overall, this is not a book I would recommend to anyone other than wrestling fans.  If you are familiar with the world of wrestling, or Lex Luger, you would probably enjoy this book.  If not, you might not enjoy it as much.

I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

