Road Trip to Redemption by Brad Mathias

What I liked the most about this book is that it is a true story, shared by people who are being authentic with their failings, struggles, worries, regrets, but most of all redemption.  I loved reading about the healing in the Mathias marriage and in their family life.

I loved the stories of their travels, especially the characterization of the car trip when everyone is sleeping and it’s poor, tired dad driving along with only the radio for company.  I think the description of the scenery was excellent and very poetic at times.  I would have enjoyed more photographs to look at.  As a parent, I think Mathias did a great job expressing the fears and worries that face us all, and love the analogy of the parents driving the car, with the children along for the ride, but ultimately we are not in control.

The only negative is that most Americans would not be in a position to experience the same sort of road trip.  At the end of the book when Mathis offers guidelines on preparing for a comparable trip, I read over the financial particulars and knew this sort of trip would not be happening anytime in the near future for my family.  However, God bless the Mathias family for having the means and the time to embark on their journey, especially with their extended family.

I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Boys, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

