The First Escape by G.P. Taylor

I chose this book to read as part of the Tyndale Summer Reading program.  It was a very quick read and the illustrations made it go even faster.  I saw immediately how the pictures and different fonts would appeal to kids.  Graphic novels hold great appeal for children and tweens and I’ve read several along with my children.   

I was a little surprised that the storyline was so dark, especially for a book published by Tyndale.  The characters were interesting, and I appreciated the idea of Sadie going off to look for Saskia, but adults were not held in high esteem or a positive role models.  The illustrations made me think of vampires or gothic characters which are popular characters for books.  Kids love these kind of scary books that are reminiscent of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps.

I am not sure if maybe I missed the message, but it would have been nice to have more than just you are never alone or family is important.  I can’t help but compare this book with the T.J. and the Time Stumbler series also published by Tyndale that has a much brighter message.  I would recommend that series over this one.

Overall, although this wasn’t my favorite book, I can see the appeal it would have for the target audience and I think kids would love it.  I hope the second and third books have a clearer message and a more positive feel.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

