The Briarpatch Gospel by Shayne Wheeler

Wheeler puts forth the idea of meeting people in the briarpatch – where ever they are in their lives and showing them God’s love instead of telling them about God.  It gave me something to think about, which is great when a book makes me think.  I enjoyed all of the examples Wheeler shared in his own life of people that he encountered and how he was a witness by the love he showed them, rather than telling them about God’s love.  Some of the stories were humorous, and others were quite sad.  It made me think about how even when I don’t say anything, I am sharing a testimony.  I can’t say I agree with everything Wheeler put forth in his book, or his interpretation of Scripture.  However, his book did make me think, and I think I will be a little more assertive in meeting people where they are at.

I wouldn’t recommend this book for everyone.  If you are firmly rooted in your faith and are looking for a book to make you think about things in a different way, you might enjoy this book.  I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t my favorite.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Briarpatch Gospel by Shayne Wheeler

  1. courtney says:

    Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

