All For a Song by Allison Pittman

This is the third book of Pittman’s that I’ve read and I have to say it is my favorite!  Although I usually don’t like books that go back and forth in time, this one didn’t bother me because the flashbacks were directly tied to the present happenings.  Pittman did a good job setting up the flashbacks so they made sense to the story line.

The characters are very well-written.  Lynnie as a young girl is believable with her desires to experience new things at odds with family obligations and expectations.  I love the way she is able to maintain her integrity while tasting her dream.  I was wondering throughout the entire book which pathway she would ultimately choose.  I was inspired by Lynnie’s courage in taking risks and in her fiance’s faith for letting her go.

On a side note, there is some humor in the book as well.  I loved the fact that Pittman named the church pianist – from Lynnie’s home church with the piano that has three missing keys – Rusty Keyes.  I thought it was very funny!

It is a little difficult to write a review about a book I loved as much as this one, so all I can say is to give this book a try.  I don’t think you will be disappointed.  I highly recommend this book and it is one I will read again and again.

All for a Song

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All For a Song by Allison Pittman

  1. courtney says:

    Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

