A Simple Change by Judith Miller

Jancey Rhoder’s parents decide to move from Kansas City back to the Amana Colonies due to her mother’s illness.  Jancey makes the difficult decision to leave the job she loves, teaching at an orphanage to move with her parents and help in her mother’s care.  It is not as difficult a decision to leave Nathan, her suitor behind.  Nathan assumes they will marry, but Jancey is not sure.  Jancey has many adjustments to make in her new life, but meets new people and enjoys life in the colony.  However, her decision to come to the colony is only the first of a series of difficult decisions she must make.

Overall, I enjoyed this book.  This is the first book of the Amana colonies that I have read.  So, I was not familiar with the Amana colonies and was interested in the rules and the way of life depicted in the book.  The first half of it was pretty slow going and I had a hard time maintaining my interest in it.  However, I kept going and the second half of the book paid off.  I wasn’t immediately enthralled with Jancey’s character, but her faithfulness to her family and her faith grew on me.  I thought Miller did a great job with the plot and provided some surprises and unexpected twists that I didn’t see coming, which is always a plus.

I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.  It ends up being a good book, after a slow beginning.  On an additional note, I usually don’t pay a lot of attention to the cover of a book, but this one I found myself studying several times.  The picture is lovely and it has a nice texture to it.  Give this book a try, you will probably enjoy it!

I was provided with a copy of the book from the publisher for review purposes.  All opinions are my own.

Simple Change, A (Home to Amana)

This entry was posted in Adult, Teen Girls, Uncategorized, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Simple Change by Judith Miller

  1. courtney says:

    Thanks for the review- and your perseverance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

