Borders of the Heart by Chris Fabry

I am not sure why I didn’t like this book more.  Without a doubt, Fabry is a gifted writer.  The characters are true to who they are and what they represent.  The story line is believable, although fairly predictable.  I found myself reading because I was curious about Maria and wanted to find out if she was what she seemed.  That kept my interest in the book, but I have to admit that I had to force myself to pay attention and keep reading to finish that book, which is never a good thing when reading!

It seemed like the author had some political motivation in the book in regards to a United States/Mexico fence to secure the border and the topic of illegal immigrants/border ranchers.  It wasn’t blatant, but it was present.

There was a lot of violence and murder, which isn’t my cup of tea when reading.

I did enjoy the message of love for our fellow human beings, letting go of people we love when they are in a better place (even if it is hard), and that everyone deserves a second chance.

Overall, weighing the good writing and interesting characters, the encouraging message, violence, and the socio-political topic, I would rate this book somewhere in the middle.  Not necessarily my kind of book, but others might really enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

