C.S. Lewis – A Life: Eccentric Genius, Reluctant Prophet

I thought this was an interesting book.  I have read many books by C.S. Lewis and enjoy his writing.  Before reading this book, I was not aware of his close friendship with J.R.R. Tolkien, or that Lewis actually nominated Tolkien for the Nobel Prize in Literature.  I was also not aware of the differing views on his relationship with his wife and the speculation on her motivation in their relationship.  The author offered an entire chapter on the Narnia books, and I enjoyed his take on the back story of Narnia and the possible reasons behind the seven books.  I also enjoyed this book because of the pictures of buildings in Oxford and Cambridge that I recognized from my travels in England.  Overall an interesting book, but a little dry.

This entry was posted in Adult, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to C.S. Lewis – A Life: Eccentric Genius, Reluctant Prophet

  1. Jacob says:

    What an interesting sounding book. I will be sure to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

